Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bank, not affiliated with any bankBank pages checked October 31, 2026

Head to head · BMO vs National Bank

BMO vs National Bank mortgages: rates, prepayment, penalties and HELOCs compared

Two of Canada’s big banks, compared on the terms that cost or save you money, from each bank’s own pages. No ranking, no paid placement: just which one fits which borrower.

Bank pages checked October 31, 2026

Mitey the Yeti weighing a BMO mortgage against a National Bank mortgage
Lower advertised 5-year fixed

Tie at 5.14%.

Paying down faster

BMO (up to 20% (Smart Fixed 10%) vs 10% a calendar year).

Might break early

BMO in our example: $14,040 vs $14,675 to break a new 5-year after 2 years if rates fall 1 point (high end of a range where a formula isn’t fully published).

Renewing early

BMO gives more room: BMO up to 180 days; National Bank up to 4 months.

Re-borrowing equity

BMO: Homeowner ReadiLine: up to 80% in total; revolving line capped at 65%. National Bank: All-In-One: line of credit up to 65%, up to 80% with a mortgage; $7/month per account.

Bottom line

Pick on the clause you’re most likely to use: prepayment if you’ll pay down fast, the penalty rule and portability if you might move, the HELOC if you’ll re-borrow. Then ask the other bank to match.

Term sheets side by side

BMO Bank of MontrealNational Bank
5-yr special / posted5.14% / 6.09%5.14% / 6.14%
Prime usedBMO Prime 4.70%National Bank prime 4.70%
PrepaymentUp to 20% payment increase or lump sum (product-dependent); Smart Fixed is 10% / 10%.10% of the principal a calendar year, plus an extra payment up to your regular payment on each payment date.
Fixed-rate penaltySee BMO’s prepayment calculator and prepayment-options PDF (formula not on the pages we could read).Higher of 3 months’ interest or 1 month’s interest (max $500) plus the interest differential. Variable: 3 months’ interest.
PortabilityNot stated on the BMO pages we could read; ask BMO.Not stated on the National Bank pages we could read; ask the bank.
HELOCHomeowner ReadiLine: up to 80% in total; revolving line capped at 65%.All-In-One: line of credit up to 65%, up to 80% with a mortgage; $7/month per account.
Early renewalUp to 180 days early, no penalty.Renew up to 4 months early with no penalty; protect a rate from 6 months out.

Posted and special rates by term

From each bank’s rates page, October 31, 2026
TermBMO specialBMO postedNational Bank specialNational Bank posted
1-year—5.49%5.49%5.49%
2-year—4.94%5.04%5.24%
3-year4.94%6.05%5.04%6.09%
4-year—5.99%5.09%6.05%
5-year5.14%6.09%5.14%6.14%
6-year—6.29%—6.40%
7-year—6.40%5.34%6.40%
10-year—6.80%—6.80%

Same mortgage, broken after two years

A new 5-year fixed for $450,000 at each bank’s own 5-year special, discounted from its own posted rate, broken after 24 months. People usually break when rates have fallen, which is when the IRD bites, so we show both cases:

BMONational Bank
Starting rate (5-yr special)5.14%5.14%
Discount from posted0.95 pts1.00 pts
Compared with (3-yr posted less discount)5.10%5.09%
3 months’ interest$5,782$5,782
Penalty, posted rates unchanged$5,782$5,782
Penalty, posted rates 1 point lower$5,782–$14,040$5,782–$14,675

Uses each bank’s published rule (see methodology); balance kept at $450,000 for a like-for-like comparison. “—” means the bank publishes no 5-year special rate to start from (Scotiabank shows specials only as APRs). Price your own mortgage in the penalty analyzer.

Mitey the Yeti, BankMortgages.ca’s guide, pointing out a tip
Mitey’s tip for this matchup

Bring BMO’s written offer to National Bank (or the other way round) and ask them to beat it on the same term. Then compare the penalty clause, because that’s where these two differ most.

BMO vs National Bank: questions

Is BMO or National Bank better for a mortgage?

Neither wins on everything. On the terms each bank publishes: lower advertised 5-year fixed: Tie at 5.14%. paying down faster: BMO (up to 20% (Smart Fixed 10%) vs 10% a calendar year). might break early: BMO in our example: $14,040 vs $14,675 to break a new 5-year after 2 years if rates fall 1 point (high end of a range where a formula isn’t fully published). renewing early: BMO gives more room: BMO up to 180 days; National Bank up to 4 months. re-borrowing equity: BMO: Homeowner ReadiLine: up to 80% in total; revolving line capped at 65%. National Bank: All-In-One: line of credit up to 65%, up to 80% with a mortgage; $7/month per account. Get a written quote from both, and from a broker, for the same term.

How do BMO and National Bank calculate prepayment penalties?

BMO: See BMO’s prepayment calculator and prepayment-options PDF (formula not on the pages we could read). National Bank: Higher of 3 months’ interest or 1 month’s interest (max $500) plus the interest differential. Variable: 3 months’ interest.

Can I switch from BMO to National Bank at renewal?

Yes. At maturity there is no prepayment penalty, and since November 21, 2024 a straight switch with the same amount and amortization no longer needs a new stress test. The new bank may cover legal and appraisal costs; your current bank may charge a discharge fee. See the renewal checklist.

Sources

  1. Today’s mortgage rates — BMO, checked Oct 31, 2026
  2. Mortgage rates — National Bank, checked Oct 31, 2026
  3. Mortgage prepayment calculator — BMO, checked Oct 31, 2026
  4. Pay off your mortgage faster (prepayment and charges) — National Bank, checked Oct 31, 2026

Keep exploring

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. BankMortgages.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any bank named on this site. Bank terms change: confirm every rate and term with the lender and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.