Part of the MITEY Network · independent, not a bank, not affiliated with any bankBank pages checked October 31, 2026

CIBC penalty calculator

CIBC mortgage penalty calculator

Estimate what it would cost to break a CIBC fixed mortgage, using CIBC’s own posted rates (October 31, 2026) and the penalty rule CIBC publishes. Then see whether breaking pays and how waiting cuts the cost.

Mitey the Yeti, the BankMortgages.ca guide, checking the numbers
$
%
22 months left in the term.
%
Filled with the Bank of Canada’s typical 5-year posted rate for 2023-08 (6.84%). Your mortgage documents show the exact figure.
$
CIBC: 10%, 15% or 20% a year depending on product; payment increases up to 100%.
%
CIBC’s 2-year special, as a starting point.
yrs

CIBC · estimated cost to break today

$13,640

IRD applies

3 months’ interest
$7,952
at your rate + discount
IRD
$13,640
6.09% vs 4.49% × 22/12
Comparison rate
5.24%
CIBC posted 2-yr, less your 0.75% discount

CIBC: 3 months’ interest at your rate plus your discount, or the IRD vs CIBC’s current posted rate, whichever is greater.

Is breaking worth it?

Moving to 4.84% would save about $10,331 in interest over the 22 months left, so you’d be $3,309 behind after the penalty. Waiting for renewal, or porting, is likely cheaper.

Break-even new rate: 4.44%. Below that, breaking pays before your current term would have ended. Ignores legal, appraisal and discharge fees.

Waiting cuts the penalty

$0$6,820$13,640now+4m+8m+12m+16m+20m+22m

If posted rates stay where they are, waiting 6 months brings the estimate to $10,413; at maturity it’s $0. Early renewal at CIBC: CIBC suggests starting 5 months before expiry; early-renewal window not stated.

Three ways to pay less

  • Prepay first. Using this year’s privilege first lowers the base the penalty is charged on (10%, 15% or 20% a year depending on product; payment increases up to 100%.)
  • Port instead of breaking. May have a portability option (term, balance and maturity move to the new home).
  • Blend and extend. FCAC describes early renewal at a blended rate as a way to avoid a full penalty. Ask CIBC for a quote.

CIBC’s own penalty page ↗ · always get the bank’s written payout figure.

The same mortgage at each big bank

Same balance, rate, discount and time left, priced with each bank’s own posted table (Oct 31, 2026) and the formula it publishes. This shows how much the bank’s penalty rule and posted table matter.

BankCompares with3 months’Estimated penalty
RBC2-yr posted 5.74%$7,080$9,377
TD2-yr posted 5.39%$7,080$12,361
Scotiabank2-yr posted 5.24%$7,080$13,640
CIBC2-yr posted 5.24%$7,952$13,640
National Bank2-yr posted 5.24%$7,080$7,746–$14,140
BMO2-yr posted 4.94%$7,080$7,080–$16,197

Estimates use simple interest over the months left (as in FCAC’s example); RBC, TD and Scotiabank say they discount to present value, which lowers the real figure somewhat. Today’s month is taken from your device; rates are as published on October 31, 2026.

CIBC’s rule, in its own words

  • Fixed closed: the greater of 3 months’ interest on the amount prepaid (calculated at your rate plus any discount you received) or the IRD.
  • IRD: interest over the remaining term at your rate plus your discount, minus interest at CIBC’s current posted rate for the comparison mortgage named in your documents. For a partial prepayment, the charge applies only to the amount above your privilege.
  • Variable closed: 3 months’ interest on the amount prepaid, calculated at the CIBC Prime Rate.
  • A discharge and/or assignment fee also applies when you prepay in full or transfer to another lender.

CIBC posted rates used in the calculation

CIBC posted fixed closed rates, Oct 31, 2026 (prime “as of October 31, 2026”)
TermPosted rate
1-year5.14%
2-year5.24%
3-year6.14%
4-year6.19%
5-year6.49%
7-year6.30%
10-year6.79%
Mitey the Yeti, BankMortgages.ca’s guide, pointing out a tip
Mitey’s tip

Online estimates are a starting point. Ask CIBC for a written payout statement before you sign anything with another lender, or try CIBC’s own calculator.

Frequently asked questions

How does CIBC calculate its mortgage prepayment penalty?

Greater of 3 months’ interest (at your rate + discount) or IRD vs CIBC’s current posted rate. Variable: 3 months’ interest at CIBC Prime. See the CIBC profile for the bank’s exact wording and source.

Which CIBC posted rate is used?

The posted rate for the term closest to the time left in your term. CIBC’s posted fixed rates on October 31, 2026: 1-year 5.14%, 2-year 5.24%, 3-year 6.14%, 4-year 6.19%, 5-year 6.49%, 7-year 6.30%, 10-year 6.79%.

How can I lower a CIBC penalty?

Use your prepayment privilege first (10%, 15% or 20% a year depending on product; payment increases up to 100%.), ask about porting (may have a portability option (term, balance and maturity move to the new home).), or wait: cibc suggests starting 5 months before expiry; early-renewal window not stated.

Sources

  1. Mortgage rates across Canada — CIBC, checked Oct 31, 2026
  2. Mortgage prepayment (privileges and prepayment charges) — CIBC, checked Oct 31, 2026
  3. Reduce or avoid prepayment penalties — FCAC, checked Oct 31, 2026

Keep exploring

Other banks: RBC · TD · Scotiabank · BMO · National Bank

Educational information only, not financial, legal or tax advice. BankMortgages.ca is independent and is not affiliated with, endorsed by or paid by any bank named on this site. Bank terms change: confirm every rate and term with the lender and the official sources linked on each page before you act. Read the full disclaimer.